BTCEB Buzz October 2022 – Bicycle Trails Council

The November 8th election has several contested races for the EBRPD and EBMUD director seats.  We ask that you become an informed voter and participate in these elections. You may only vote on director races in the ward that you live in.  Information on the ward boundaries is given below.  These directors are key decision makers regarding bike access for the two largest land managers in the East Bay. 

Candidates were requested to participate in our survey.  Links to their responses are posted below along with the candidate’s campaign contact and/or website information.  As a 501(c)3 organization BTCEB cannot make endorsements in candidate elections but can provide educational information.

Contested Races:

EBRPD Ward Map
EBRPD Ward Map

EBRPD – Ward 3

Geography – Alameda County, Cities in Ward 3 include: Castro Valley, Fairview, Fremont, Hayward, San Lorenzo, Union City,  Regional Parks in Ward 3 include: Anthony Chabot Regional Park, Ardenwood Historic Farm, Cull Canyon Regional Recreation Area, Don Castro Regional Recreation Area, Dry Creek Pioneer Regional Park, Dublin Hills Regional Park, Five Canyons Open Space Regional Preserve, Garin Regional Park, Hayward Regional Shoreline, Lake Chabot Regional Park, Las Trampas Wilderness Regional Preserve, Pleasanton Ridge Regional Park, Quarry Lakes Regional Recreation Area, Vargas Plateau Regional Park. 

Gina Lewis – No Response – emailwebsite

EBMUD – Ward 3

Geography – Alameda County city of Piedmont and a substantial portion of Oakland. Contra Costa County, Cities of Orinda and El Sobrante, Town of Moraga, and portions of Pinole and Richmond. 

EBMUD – Ward 7

Geography – Alameda County, Castro Valley, portions of San Leandro and Hayward, and communities of Cherryland and Fairview

Uncontested Races:

The following races were uncontested.  These candidates were also asked for a survey response.  Response information is posted below.

EBRPD – Ward 5

Geography – Cities in Ward 5 include: Dublin, Fremont, Livermore, Newark, Pleasanton, Sunol, Union City, Regional Parks in Ward 5 include: Brushy Peak Regional Preserve, Camp Arroyo, Coyote Hills Regional Park, Del Valle Regional Park, Doolan Canyon Regional Preserve, Dublin Hills Regional Park, Dumbarton Quarry Campground on the Bay, Mission Peak Regional Preserve, Ohlone Wilderness Regional Preserve, Pleasanton Ridge Regional Park, Shadow Cliffs Regional Recreation Area, Sunol Wilderness Regional Preserve.

EBRPD – Ward 6

Geography – Cities in Ward 6 include: Alamo, Alhambra Valley, Blackhawk, Byron, Camino Tassajara, Castle Hill, Clayton, Concord, Contra Costa Centre, Danville, Diablo, Discovery Bay, Norris Canyon, North Gate, Pleasant Hill, Reliez Valley, San Miguel, San Ramon, Shell Ridge, Walnut Creek, Regional Parks in Ward 6 include: Bishop Ranch Open Space Regional Preserve, Briones Regional Park, Byron Vernal Pools Regional Preserve, Castle Rock Regional Recreation Area, Clayton Ranch Regional Preserve, Delta Access Regional Recreation Area, Diablo Foothills Regional Park, Doolan Canyon Regional Preserve, Las Trampas Wilderness Regional Preserve, Little Hills Regional Recreation Area, Morgan Territory Regional Preserve, Round Valley Regional Preserve, Sycamore Valley Open Space Regional Preserve, Thurgood Marshall Regional Park – Home of the Port Chicago 50, Vasco Caves Regional Preserve, Vasco Hills Regional Preserve.

John Mercurio – declined to respond to the survey – emailwebsite

EBRPD – Ward 7 

Geography – Contra Costa County, Cities in Ward 7 include: Alhambra Valley, Antioch, Bay Point, Bethel Island, Brentwood, Clyde, Crockett, Hercules, Knightsen, Martinez, Mountain View, Oakley, Pacheco, Pittsburg, Port Costa, Reliez Valley, Rodeo, Vine Hill.

EBMUD – Ward 2

Geography – Contra Costa County, Alamo, Lafayette and Walnut Creek, Town of Danville, communities of Blackhawk and Diablo, and portions of Pleasant Hill and San Ramon.

EBMUD – Ward 4

Geography – Alameda County, Cities of Albany, Berkeley, and Emeryville;a portion of Oakland.

Links to register to vote if you’re not already registered :

User Input